Friday, August 22, 2014

favorite song friday: awesome mix vol. 1

The runaway film hit of the summer, Guardians of The Galaxy, didn't just introduce the coolest talking tree ever and make comic book movies cool again, but it also spawned a hit soundtrack of decades-old jukebox hits, "Awesome Mix Vol. 1":

1. Blue Swede – "Hooked on a Feeling"
2. Raspberries – "Go All the Way"
3. Norman Greenbaum – "Spirit in the Sky"
4. David Bowie – "Moonage Daydream"
5. Elvin Bishop – "Fooled Around and Fell in Love"
6. 10Cc – "I’m Not in Love"
7. Jackson 5 – "I Want You Back"
8. Redbone – "Come and Get Your Love"
9. The Runaways – "Cherry Bomb"
10. Rupert Holmes – "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)"
11. The Five Stairsteps – "O-O-H Child"
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – "Ain’t No Mountain High Enough"

The movie starts off with a bang with "Come and Get Your Love," by Redbone and doesn't ever really quit.

The songs are not just a fun blast from the past, but are integral to the story and carefree, fun mood of the film.

"One of the main story points in the movie is that [hero Peter] Quill [played by Chris Pratt] has this compilation tape that he got from his mother before she died that she made for him. It was of songs that she loved, all songs from the 1970s, and that's the only thing he has left of his mother and that's the only thing he has left of his home on Earth. He uses that as a connection to his past and to the sadness that he feels of having left all that and lost all that." — Empty Lighthouse Magazine

The soundtrack is not unsurprisingly, already a bestseller on iTunes and other outlets and there's already a wish list circulating of what songs might turn up on "Awesome Mix Vol. 2."


Post a Comment